MEET PYAE WON THEIN, INTERNATIONAL STUDENT OF SZTE

jack.jpg

 

Jack has started his journey as an international student at the University of Szeged in the previous semester. As he familiarizes himself with the streets of Szeged, he encounters a mix of cultural and academic challenges. Still Jack's time in Szeged is not just about studying; it's also a chance for him to meet new people and enjoy the student life in our bustling city.

 

Please introduce yourself!

My name is Pyae Won Thein but you can call me Jack. I am from Myanmar, a Southeast Asian country. I am now studying International and European Trade and Investment law program for my master degree at Univeristy of Szeged.

When did you come to Hungary and why did you choose University of Szeged to study?

When I decided to study abroad, I searched for the universities that provide the program I would like to attend and I found University of Szeged which provides the exact program that I would like to pursue. Additionally, the University of Szeged is the best university in Hungary with an affordable tuition fees compared to most european countires, and Hungary itself is a convenient country to live in terms of living costs, transportation system and weather.

Do you have a favorite subject? What do you find most challenging about your major?

We had to learn about European laws as a part of the international law module during our bachelor program back in the university of my home country, so the European laws are not totally new to me. Nevertheless, this program makes you deep dive into all aspects of EU laws and its functioning mechanisms and requires us to do a lot of readings, which I find a little challenging.

After you spend a little time in Hungary did you see something which was surprising for you in the Hungarian culture? Feel free to share your thoughts whether they are positive or maybe negative.

A few days after I arrived at Szeged, I visited Budapest with my friends and when we took the bus there, after a few stops an elderly woman get on the bus, so I gave up my seat to her, but she refused to sit and we both were standing beside that empty seat along the way, which I found weird and funny. In our culture, it is more like an unspoken rule to give up seats to the elderly and they are okay to take it but here it might not be the case.

What Hungarian words do you know already? Do you have a favorite?

Personally speaking, Hungarian words are long and confusing. So far I have been living with szia, konzonom and szivesen.

As an international student, do you have any tips or life hacks you learned, and would like to share with others who plan to come here?

I think your life will be easier if you can make friends with some hungarian young people, because almost all of them are friendly and willing to help.

How do you like the weather here, is it different from yours?

It will be hard for people like us who come from tropical countries to cope with the weather here at first, but you will learn how to make yourself warm gradually and get used to it eventually.

What do you think about Szeged?

The city Szeged, despite being the third largest city in Hungary, is peaceful and safe and most people are nice and friendly here. So if you are a fan of quiet and less crowded place, Szeged will be the right place for you.

How do you get around in the city?

I like to go around the city with bike, because it is safe to ride a bike here.

Have you found any hobbies or sport activities that you can do here?

I have been playing badminton since I was young and turns out I got a new friend who plays badminton as well. So I teamed up with him and could continue playing my favourite sport at the Squash Club Kft.

What other places have you visited in Hungary?

I have visited Budapest many times already since it is only 2 and a half hours by train to get there and Miskolc, which is a surprisingly beautiful place to visit during the autum time.

What are your plans or goals after the university? Will you stay in Szeged, or maybe Budapest?

I am still not so sure of my next plan but I am thinking of continuing my studies by doing Phd. So if I happen to do so, I might be living in Szeged and continue for my Phd here.

 

Interviewer: Bianka Móró

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://sztealmamater.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr8418314989

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.

Leírás

Az SZTE Alma Mater, a Szegedi Tudományegyetem alumni szervezete legfőbb célkitűzésének tekinti, egy olyan közösséget építsen, amelyben az egyetem öregdiákjai a diplomaszerzést követően is kapcsolatban maradhatnak az intézménnyel és egymással. Az Alma Mater-tagok részesei lehetnek az egyetemi életnek, értesülhetnek az itt zajló fejlesztésekről, rendezvényekről, és egyedülálló kedvezményrendszert vehetnek igénybe. A szervezet alapvető célcsoportját képezik az egyetemi oktatók és dolgozók mellett azok a volt hallgatók, akik a Szegedi Tudományegyetemen tanultak, és itt szerezték meg diplomájukat.

Facebook oldaldoboz

süti beállítások módosítása