„That’s why I love this place, that’s why I want to stay here after my degree.” - Interview with Osaid Haider

Meet Osaid Haider, our international student from Pakistan, who is currently in his third year at the University of Szeged, pursuing a bachelor's degree in Business Administration and Management. He arrived in Hungary in 2021 through the Stipendium Hungaricum Scholarship and chose Szeged based on its strong academic reputation and recommendations from friends. As an international student, he has embraced Hungarian culture, appreciates the city's vibrant lifestyle, and even mentors new students. With plans to work in Budapest after graduation, Osaid continues to immerse himself in his studies while also capturing photos and videos and exploring Hungary.

2cd7430b-252e-4109-9bb8-25ca36bf1be2ez.jpg

Please introduce yourself!

My name is Osaid Haider, and I’m from Pakistan. It is my third year here in Szeged, and I am a bachelor student in Business Administration and Management in Faculty of Economics and Business Administration, University of Szeged.

Why did you choose University of Szeged to study?

I came to Hungary in 2021 after receiving the Stipendium Hungaricum Scholarship. I chose this university because I researched the best universities in Hungary, and Szeged came up as one of the top results. I also had some Pakistani friends who had spent time in Hungary before, and they told me about their great experiences here. We attended the same high school back home, but they were seniors and moved to Hungary before I did, so I got some information from them beforehand.

What is your favorite subject, and what do you find most challenging about your major?

I would say that I like management subjects, and Human Resourses (HR) is my favorite. The system is really good, and the university provides us with great opportunities to explore. However, statistics is a bit challenging as a subject. Otherwise, I find it quite convenient and enjoyable to study here at the university.

After you spend some time in Hungary, did you see something which was surprising for you in the Hungarian culture? Feel free to share your thoughts whether they are positive or maybe negative.

img_0304.jpgI'm genuinely saying that Hungary is very different from Pakistan, so everything was suprising for me at first, from small things to the big ones. For example I am fond of it, that the parties here are really great. And the public transport system is soo good, I couldn’t even imagine that it can be this good, If I compare to Pakistan. For me the overall society was very liberating, very free to express myself. So these things were very suprising from the start, but also that’s why I love this place, that’s why I want to stay here after my degree.

How is your Hungarian? Do you have a favorite word?

Yes, my favorte world is lélegzetelállító. One of my Hungarian friend thaught me and it means breathtaking. In the first two semesters I had to do Hungarian courses, and I had an oral exam after that, so I had a bit good Hungarian, but then I didn't really practice. Now I can just say „Kérek egy kólát”. Or another day I ordered, like „Kérek egy sima hamburgeret”. So these are something I can do, but not really fluent of course. My workplace is a British company, so we speak in English there.

How did you become a mentor in the university?

I have been a GTK faculty mentor in the last two years, but also I was an international mentor in the Orientation Days as well, in 2022. I feel that I know the city quite well now, so I like to guiding new people when they arrive. I'm doing this, because I have been in their shoes, and I also needed some guidance when I came here.

As an international student, do you have any tips or life hacks you learned, and would like to share with others who plan to come here?

When you go to a new country as an international student, you should try to complete all your documentation as soon as possible. At the start, that is one thing what was very important, and helped me a lot. Because when you in a situation like this, there is a lot of things to do, you have to go different offices, immigration, bank account etc,, but if you just do them in the beginning, everything will be smooth. If you skip something and you delayed, it can cause issues later.

930fcae4-48a6-4cf6-95a1-b52157f5d0d0.jpgAlso I noticed that some people are seem to not really mix with other nationalities, or Hungarians, and they are with their own nationalities all the time. My advise is: don’t do that, that is not why you are here for. Instead, try to go to international events and meet new people from the other parts of the world. For example most of my friends are Hungarians right now. That was something I wanted to do when I came here: to meet people from all around the world, and not stick with those I already speak the same language with.

Do you have a favorite place or spot in the city?

Yes I do. I think I have more than one. I like the „New Szeged” part, and the grassy area behinde the Móra Ferenc Museum, with the park and the swings, next to the river. And I also like Kárász utca and Széchenyi tér.

Are you used to going to TIK?

So the thing is, I do not go to TIK a lot. I usually only go there during the exam period, but other times I rather go to Starbucks to study. To be honest I go there a lot, so that is my favorite spot.

Where did you get the opportunity to gain work experience?

In a business degree, it’s more about experience—no one asks which courses you’ve completed; they care about the skills you have. The program at this university is well-designed, with less study pressure, allowing you to gain practical experience by working in your field. That’s what I’ve been doing for the past two years. I work in a company in Budapest called Diageo, and I am in the HR team right now. It’s very nice, an outstanding workplace, and I have the opportunity to work from Szeged as well as in Budapest. I will join them in full time, after I get my degree.

So are you planning to stay in Hungary?

Yes, I would like to work full-time in Budapest and am not planning to continue my studies after my bachelor’s degree for now. However, if I decide to pursue a master’s, I think I would do it at the University of Szeged.

Do you have a hobby what you can practice here?

I take photos and short videos of the city, capturing its different parts and how it looks in various weather bdcfa255-029e-45be-901f-1bbbd25b3516.jpgconditions. I also enjoy riding my bicycle around Szeged. Since it is not a big city, you can get anywhere in just 5 to 10 minutes, which is really convenient. I've noticed that many people do the same, from students to even some professors—everyone rides bicycles here. :D 

Have you visited any other city in Hungary?

Of course, I visited Pécs, Miskolc, Békéscsaba, Makó, Baja just for fun and explore, and I visit Budapest every week. I’ve heard that Debrecen is also a major city, but I haven’t been there yet. I’ve also traveled over Balaton, including Siófok, Balatonfüred, and Tihany, and I went to Kecskemét to play cricket. Balaton was my favorite, but I didn’t go into the lake because I visited in November. I took a ferry, but the weather was so cold on the water.

Is the weather very different here from Pakistan?

Yes, in Pakistan, the weather can get extremely hot in the summer, reaching up to 50 degrees Celsius in some places. In Islamabad, where I’m from, temperatures can peak at 37-40 degrees, which is still quite high. In Hungary the summer is usually lenient than that. While summer in Pakistan often lacks recreational activities, Hungary offers many opportunities, such as water parks, which I really enjoy. I appreciate how accessible and varied these activities are here.

On the other hand, winter where I live in Pakistan is not very cold; there is no snow except in the mountains, and the temperature usually stays above 7 degrees Celsius. In contrast, in Szeged, temperatures can drop to 0 or even -10 degrees. So here was my first time to experience snow up close. Since then, however, I have seen more snow in the Swiss Alps.

My last question is: do you get homesick sometimes?

Actually, I don’t get homesick. Before coming here, I spent five years in boarding school, so I’m used to being away from home. I stay in touch with my family through video calls, so this lifestyle become normal for me. I haven’t visited home since I arrived in Hungary because it’s quite far—about 9-hour only the flight time—but I hope to visit after I complete my degree.

 Interviewer: Bianka Móró

For our TIKTOK video with Osaid, click on the picture:

434042648_937852491521691_8956194648750632068_n.jpg

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://sztealmamater.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr3618470875

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.

Leírás

Az SZTE Alma Mater, a Szegedi Tudományegyetem alumni szervezete legfőbb célkitűzésének tekinti, egy olyan közösséget építsen, amelyben az egyetem öregdiákjai a diplomaszerzést követően is kapcsolatban maradhatnak az intézménnyel és egymással. Az Alma Mater-tagok részesei lehetnek az egyetemi életnek, értesülhetnek az itt zajló fejlesztésekről, rendezvényekről, és egyedülálló kedvezményrendszert vehetnek igénybe. A szervezet alapvető célcsoportját képezik az egyetemi oktatók és dolgozók mellett azok a volt hallgatók, akik a Szegedi Tudományegyetemen tanultak, és itt szerezték meg diplomájukat.

Facebook oldaldoboz

süti beállítások módosítása