UNIVERSITY TEACHER BY DAY AND DJ BY NIGHT
Meet Timothy Yaw Acheampong from Ghana, an alumni of the University of Szeged.

img_5983_borito.jpg

Timothy Yaw Acheampong is our University of Szeged alumni from Ghana. He completed his PhD here, and currently a teacher in the Faculty of Economics and Business Administration. By day, he imparts knowledge to students, and by night, he transforms into a DJ at lively Afrobeats parties of which he is also the organizer. This dual role reflects his dedication to both education and cultural celebration, adding a vibrant rhythm to Szeged's social life. 

Why and how did you decide to come here to the University of Szeged?

Well, sometime back in 2018, I saw an advertisement in a natonal newspaper of Ghana, and they were adverting a hungarian scholarship, so I decided to apply. After I’ve got admission, I came here in 2018 to start my PhD in economics.

Where did you go to university before Szeged?

I was born in Ghana, but I grow up and went school in Canada, and I had my high school diploma in the United States. Then eventually I went back home to Ghana, so I did my bachelor and master at home, and then I came to Hungary just for the PhD.

How do you like Szeged? Have you visited other cities in Hungary?

So far so good, I love it here in Szeged. I visited a few cities for short periods. I went to Gödöllő, and of course Budapest, also Debrecen. And then I spet 6 months in Kőszeg too, I was doing a reserch scholarship there in 2022 at the Institude of Advanced Studies Kőszeg.

Did you have a favorite subject and teacher at SZTE?

I think I love all subjects, I don’t think I have a favorit one. Also I wouldn’t say I have a favorite teacher as well, but I appreciate my supervisor Dr. Beáta Udvari, who I worked with a lot.

Did you find anything chellenging during your studies?

No, not really. How I see life, whatever comes in my way I will just deal with it, and then I move on. I can't remember anything so challenging.

Please share with me what was your thesis name and why did you choose it?

The topic was on "Aid for Trade and the Middle-Income Trap". I choose this topic because I’m coming from Ghana which is a middle income country. So when i first came here, I was interested in finding out: how countries that are in the middle income could develop to a high income level. I explored different dimension factors that can help, and through discussions with my supervisor we realised that there is also something called „aid for trade”. Therfore i decided to investigate how this "aid for trade" could possibly help a middle income country to advance to high income status, and this is how my topic went for this specific direction.

And what happened to you after you graduated here?

Currently I work full time at University of Szeged Faculty of Economics and Business Administration. I am a research fellow and teach several courses. I also work in a few projects, like the European Ethics Bowl. 

ethics_bowl_2023_weblap_grafika.png

 Are you mentoring international students as well?

Yes, in 2020 we started a mentorship program during Covid period. I was still a student, and I was part of the student mentorts. Normally in our faculty when new international students are coming, the mentors will play a helping role for them. We helped with first registrations, and sometimes arrange to pick them up when they arrived. Also we helped them to go to the different offices, immigration, international office, or where they need to go. It was very useful, especially during the covid time. I remember that time I was staying in the Öthalmi Dormitory, and one of the buildings was used for quaranten, and when the new students came, they could not leave for 10 days, so we even had to go and do shopping for them. I think it was really useful that time.

Do you have a favorite place or spot in Szeged?

I think when I was a student my favorite place was the library, I was there almost all the time. Normally I am not an outgoing type of person. I just go from my flat to the classroom or the library, maybe do some grocery shopping, and then I go back home. I have a very boring life actually.

So how come you are a DJ?

That’s the irony of the whole thing. Personally I have never been to any club, like someone who's partying. So then when I’m the DJ in an event, that is the only time you will see me in a club. For example my first time to go to Hungi was last year, when our faculty had an international week, and I did the music there. Nowdays there’s a monthly event in Átrium what I’m organasing. I decided to have an Afrobeats party every month, because I realised that normally generally in JATE club you can hear pop or techno or dance music, or maybe R&B. But there wasn’t afrobeats, despite nowdays afrobeats is one of the trendiest music genre in all over the world. So I just decided than I would try to have one party every month for people who want to come and try it out. Usually in the parties there are a few person who also teach these dances, so when new people come, they also can learn how to do these afrobeats dances Previously it used to be once in a while, but I think from december 2022 these parties are more frequently. So I try to have it in every month during the academic year, but at the same time, in the exam period I try not to inconvinience the students because i think their studies should be the firs priority.

How did you become a DJ?

Actually that’s also a very interesting one, because I think I am an old man now, but I still love music. I started to being a DJ when I was in middle school in Toronto, Canada. I had some jamaican friend who were DJ, so I started with them this as a hobby, and I like to be a DJ ever since. Even when I went back home to Ghana I used to also do music in some radio programs as well. Nonetheless when I came to Hungary I didn't plan to be a DJ here as well, because i just wanted to study and focus on my academic life. But I realised these kind of music like reggae, dance, afrobeats, latin music was not common here, so that's why I decided I will just do it for those who enjoy these.

And did you find your audience here?

425331801_910852947554979_5048204599875190373_n.jpgWell the attendance on the events has been ups and downs. The afrobeats was a very new thing in Szeged, becuase I remember when I started to play in the Atrium in 2019, they said I should change the music, but then later from 2022 it was more succesful. We also had a few nice afrobeats parties between 2021-2022 but they were not regulra that time. So these regularly repeated parties started after that. Still some have less visitors than others, even thoug I make all my parties free, because I just want to give people a taste of the music. As long as I can I try not to charge people for my parties, because I just want them to come and have fun. Sometime there where be parties with 100+ people, but I think on avarage there are az least 50 or so people who attend. Another interesting thing I experienced that people come later and later, even if the party starts at 9 or 10 everybody come at midnight or after.

What are your future plans?

My future plans is just to try to continue to develope and build myself, try to get more publications, and hopefully one day I can become a full professor, so I think that is my main focus. I am the first international person that was employed in my faculty and I think it is a very big honor, so I feel I need to give back to the faculty and the university, therefore I will dedicate some time for that from my life.

 

The last AFROBEATS PARTY, was held on Friday, February 23rd in the heart of Szeged in Átrium Café / Shisha and Biliard Pub! Attendees enjoyed the latest Afrobeats tunes, trendy dance moves, and they even celebrated two birthdays during the night. The event lasted from 9 PM to 3 AM, and entry was absolutely free. Everyone brought their dancing shoes and positive energy to make it an unforgettable night! Visit the next event in March!

For more pictures, visit the https://uniszegedalumni.com/ page.

 

Interview partner and photos of the Afrobeats party: Bianka Móró

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://sztealmamater.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr3818342393

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.

Leírás

Az SZTE Alma Mater, a Szegedi Tudományegyetem alumni szervezete legfőbb célkitűzésének tekinti, egy olyan közösséget építsen, amelyben az egyetem öregdiákjai a diplomaszerzést követően is kapcsolatban maradhatnak az intézménnyel és egymással. Az Alma Mater-tagok részesei lehetnek az egyetemi életnek, értesülhetnek az itt zajló fejlesztésekről, rendezvényekről, és egyedülálló kedvezményrendszert vehetnek igénybe. A szervezet alapvető célcsoportját képezik az egyetemi oktatók és dolgozók mellett azok a volt hallgatók, akik a Szegedi Tudományegyetemen tanultak, és itt szerezték meg diplomájukat.

Facebook oldaldoboz

süti beállítások módosítása