“Be open to change” — interview with Lillian Oluoch

Lillian Oluoch is from Kenya and she was studying at the Faculty of Science and Informatics, Mathematics Department in our Alma Mater. We made an interview about her experiences from Szeged and Hungary.

lillian_photobybobkoanna_1.jpg

photo: Anna Bobkó

  • Where do you live currently and what do you do, nowadays?

I live in Nairobi, the capital city of Kenya. It is an energetic and modern city that offers the world, its fascinating wildlife and rich culture!

The city's name is originally derived from a Maasai phrase meaning “the place of cool waters”, nevertheless, Nairobi is more commonly referred to as the “Green City in the Sun”.

Currently, I am a lecturer and researcher in the School of Mathematics and Actuarial Sciences, Department of Statistics and Computational Mathematics at The Technical University of Kenya, Nairobi.

  • For how long did you live in Hungary and what was the reason behind choosing SZTE for studies?

I lived in Hungary for 5 years (2016-21) and my research interest was particularly focused on the field of Statistics (Stochastics, to be more precise).

When I came across the call for ‘Stipendium Hungaricum Scholarship’ Programme, it felt that the University of Szeged would bring the best out of me in regards to the study field; to rediscover my strengths and skills, in order to grow my professional career path. I believed that the quality of education at this uni was topmost, because SZTE was ranked the best university in Hungary according to the QS World University rankings. Additionally, it has been ranked as the “Greenest” Hungarian University according to the UI Green Metric World ranking. Thus, I was convinced that the University of Szeged was not only a beautiful place but would also prove to be a conducive environment for my studies.

Furthermore, I needed to have interactions with distinguished professors at the institution, who would then help and provide several research opportunities. Finally, the living costs were relatively low as compared to some of the big cities in Hungary like Budapest and Debrecen.

1677013724649.jpg 1677013724639.jpg
  • How did you feel in Szeged? Can you share a few memorable experiences in Hungary, from a cultural perspective?

The Hungarian people were immensely welcoming, friendly and honest which really made me feel at home, even when away from one! I thoroughly enjoyed the rich Hungarian culture including numerous festivals depicting the magyar traditions! The wine festivals (Bortér, Borfesztivál), Paprika Festival, Autumn Festival when beautiful lights and images are projected onto the university building, International fish fair (Halfesztivál) and Bridge fair (Hídivásár) in Szeged and much more. The Hungarian cuisine, csirkepaprikás with a top-up of pálinka was just mind-blowing!

  • Which were your favourite places during your university years in Szeged?

Szeged is a city of high stature juxtaposed with well-maintained ancient buildings. Dóm tér stands out with its stunning craftsmanship, making it one of the most beautiful cathedrals I have ever been to, and was my favourite place in the city. Besides, the cool breeze coming from the expansive river Tisza with its breath-taking view was serene. I also loved the spectacular natural hot springs of Anna Bath in Szeged.  Not to forget a very important place, i.e., Klebelsberg Library (TIK) of Szeged University, a huge and spacious building surrounded by lush greenery and vibrant coloured flowers.

I cannot conclude without mentioning another amazing place, located just on the outskirts of Szeged, called the Ópusztaszer National Heritage Park which holds tremendous historical significance for Hungary.

img_20181001_204232.jpg

  • What were the first things or stories, that you told your people back at home?

I talked about all those things which surprised and excited me, while I was in Hungary. These included but are not limited to, the following:

Weather in Hungary: In my country, we have only two seasons, either dry season or wet season as opposed to the four seasons I experienced in Hungary. The hot and dry summers; the blossoming, breezy, and bright springs; and the cold, snowy winters. Not to forget autumn, when all the leaves drop off the trees, letting the dazzling colours of ambers, reds, and yellows create spectacular images.

The Geographical Features: Beautiful landscapes and natural resources. These include the thermal and mineral water sources; fun-filled Lake Balaton along with River Danube.

I marvelled at the architecture with stunning craftsmanship like the magnificent parliament building, the cathedrals, synagogues, statues, etc.

Hungarian Culture:  This includes how challenging the Hungarian language actually is. However, Hungarians are very appreciative of people, who at least try to utter a few words.

Hungarian cuisine: This includes bread, hot chicken with a lot of paprika, lángos and my favorite Goulash leves. It is also considered offensive to refuse to drink a shot of pálinka, when offered.

  • If you would revisit Szeged with friends or family, what will definitely be on the bucket list that you would like to show them?

It will be a great honour and I will be really humbled to secure a chance of, coming back to visit Szeged with my friends or family. I will, of course, take them to my favorite places like the Dóm tér, River Tisza, Klebelsberg Library (TIK), Bolyai Intézet, The Móra Ferenc Museum, REÖK Regional Art Centre,  Ópusztaszer National Heritage Park and other spectacular towns around Szeged.

I would like them to enjoy the serenity in Anna Bath and Napfényfürdő Aquapolis Szeged for its relaxing modern medical treatments. Moreover, I would love them to see the exquisite and infinite beauty of Hungary, which ranges from the geographical features to the welcoming people with their rich culture. I would also make a maiden trip to Lake Balaton and the famous site in Tihany, along with its surrounding towns.

  • Is there anything from your experiences in Szeged that you have incorporated into your life at home, lately?

My experience in Szeged gave me an opportunity to become a productive member of a civilized community by equipping with all the necessary skills in order to meet challenges and overcome obstacles. I have learned how to be an integrated personality and maintain the perpetuation of our cultures.

Studying at the University of Szeged, provided me with a unique and exclusive chance to meet people from different backgrounds, and various cultures and traditions. This provided a platform for gaining invaluable international experience while making friends and establishing great networks from all over the world.

Apart from these, I learned a lot of etiquettes ranging from, being patient on the roads and taking good care of our environment by keeping it clean and beautiful. These are essential life skills that are worth practicing. Last but not least, I have developed a culture of exercising and cycling, the skills that I learnt in Szeged.

  • How long have you been studying mathematics and what fascinated you about this discipline?

I have been studying Mathematics since my elementary school and that’s where I developed some affinity for numbers, from that very tender age.  This affinity intensified as I grew through high school and tertiary levels of education. At the university, I was fascinated with the intricate world of data, and not only did I find statistics intellectually stimulating, but I also found that it possesses a unique appeal due to its practical applications. For this reason, my research interest evolved around statistics and its applications.

  • Are you still in touch with anyone, whom you met in Szeged?

Szeged was like my second home for five years, and I definitely had people in the city who were so close to me that I considered them as my family and thus, still do keep in touch with them.

I am still in contact with my professors and staff at the Bolyai Institute. I also had Hungarian colleagues and friends with whom I shared a lot in common and we still share our experiences, even after having left the institution. The international students who are yet studying in Szeged, also keep me updated with the ongoings in the city. More importantly, I still maintain contact with my neighbours and also, with colleagues from Talentum Szeged, to whom I offered my volunteering services.

1677013724695.jpg

  • What are your future plans for life and beyond?

My future plans revolve around two important things in life. Firstly, to achieve academic excellence, and a successful career in teaching and research. As a lecturer at The Technical University of Kenya, I would wish to leave a legacy for the next generation of researchers. I'd like to share specialized knowledge with my students, and encourage them to participate in research activities by pointing out to them the potential research directions. I would like to inspire female students to take up courses in sciences and engineering which are currently dominated by their male counterparts.

Secondly, I also intend to continue my research work in the field of statistics and its application to other areas. My long-term research interests include Stochastic Models, Statistical Modeling and Analysis for Stochastic Processes, Rare Events Estimation, Mathematical Statistics, and Applied Probability.

Last but not least, I desire to pursue postdoctoral training, to advance the developing statistical methods for the estimation of different model specifications. I envisage working with research-based groups in statistics from international and local universities with an aim of improving research and human resource capacity building.

What advice would you like to give, to the current international students at SZTE?

From my experience in Hungary, I would like to give the following as my advice: As an International student, it is really important to respect people from different races and backgrounds by accepting their cultures and religions. This enables one to be an integrated personality in the society.

It is important to obey the rules and regulations set by the authorities in order to keep everyone safe, so that everybody may feel comfortable, hence creating a better society.

Be open to change:  Sometimes, one's career doesn’t go exactly the way they imagined initially. Shifting gears can help you gain new skills, find a better fit and recognize your strengths and limitations.  it’s also about expanding your perspectives and skillsets and venturing beyond your comfort zone.

us3.jpg

1677013724685_1.jpg

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://sztealmamater.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr3618073818

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.

Leírás

Az SZTE Alma Mater, a Szegedi Tudományegyetem alumni szervezete legfőbb célkitűzésének tekinti, egy olyan közösséget építsen, amelyben az egyetem öregdiákjai a diplomaszerzést követően is kapcsolatban maradhatnak az intézménnyel és egymással. Az Alma Mater-tagok részesei lehetnek az egyetemi életnek, értesülhetnek az itt zajló fejlesztésekről, rendezvényekről, és egyedülálló kedvezményrendszert vehetnek igénybe. A szervezet alapvető célcsoportját képezik az egyetemi oktatók és dolgozók mellett azok a volt hallgatók, akik a Szegedi Tudományegyetemen tanultak, és itt szerezték meg diplomájukat.

Facebook oldaldoboz

süti beállítások módosítása